In this roundup, we cover EU-wide crypto regulations and individual countries’ new digital asset rules including Austria and the U.K. We also cover numerous crypto regulatory developments in the U.S., China, Japan, South Korea, India, and the Philippines.

Also read: Regs Roundup: SEC Actions, Crypto Tax-Free in Korea, New Chinese Laws

EU-Wide Crypto Regulations Begin

The deadline for all European Union member states to transpose the 5th Anti-Money Laundering Directive (AMLD5) into their national legislation was Jan. 10. All EU countries should have started regulating crypto exchanges and custodial wallet providers like banks and financial institutions.

A number of European countries have independently announced how they are regulating crypto service providers such as Austria and the U.K. Some countries have missed the deadline, however. The Netherlands, for example, said on Jan. 10 that its crypto legislation is not yet effective despite many months of preparation.

Regulatory Roundup: EU-Wide Crypto Regulations, New Rules in Europe, US, Asia

Prior to the Jan. 10 deadline, European Central Bank (ECB)…

Click to continue reading on its source location…